Minimizing the risk of authenticity complaints as an OA seller

Recently, I started noticing that Online Arbitrage sellers often receive complaints about counterfeit products. This scares me a little because I’m just starting out and I wouldn’t like to receive such a complaint at the very beginning of my journey.

Can anyone tell how to minimize the risk of such complaints, why they arrive, and what to do if one does arrive?

P. s. I sell by OA model as an individual without a registered company. Purchase goods at retail stores like Walmart, Target, Kohl’s, etc.

If you do receive such a complaint. You will need to provide Amazon with an invoice showing the purchase from an authorised supplier.

Nothing you can do to avoid them though.

3 Likes

It should, if you did any of our products and offered them as “new” our attorney would shut you down. Ours actively engages with the online market places and protects us.

Not sure what you can do, just becareful. Keep in mind that if it was not for all the amazon sellers doing OA and RA amazon would go dark. They are not going to shut down millions of sellers, just the ones that they are legally obligated to takedown.

Stuff sold in every walmart / costco / chewy in the USA is more than likely impossible to enforce. If you target niche markets and brands you will have a much greater chance of getting shut down.

Good example is kirkland brand, that brand is owned by Costco. Also some of the brands owned by walmart are sold on amazon. They don’t care, at their scale it is free advertising and not a loss. Hence, they will never shut down a seller that is able to pull buyers away from amazon. Complicated, yes, you really need to study and understand what I just stated.

6 Likes