Amazon UK Charging VAT on Service Fees

Hi everyone,

I need some advice. I’m a small business owner and I’ve noticed that Amazon UK is charging VAT on their service fees. This is surprising because HMRC doesn’t charge VAT from small businesses like mine.

Can anyone help me understand:

1. Has anyone else faced this issue with Amazon UK?

2. How did you deal with it? Did you get any solution or explanation from Amazon?

3. What steps can I take to challenge this charge?

4. Should I contact HMRC about this, or is there a better way to handle it?

5. Would it help to get a local MP or business representative involved?

This extra cost is really hard for small businesses like mine. How can we survive in the UK market now?

Thanks a lot for your help!

I don’t think there is anything to be done about it as this change is happening. May be worth now going VAT reg for you, as your a very close to it. I agree its going to hit the margins, however the only thing that is in our control is to source products with higher margins to compensate for this. Good luck.

1 Like

Not sure where you got that idea from?

There is VAT charged on nearly every product or service. Sometimes you see it clearly on an invoice and sometimes you don’t. But it’s there at 20%.

If you are VAT registered, you can reclaim it in your quarterly VAT return. If you are not, you just need to incorporate it in your costings.

Amazon charges their fees from Luxemburg and there was a time that you could declare yourself as tax exempt and not pay it but this is changing very soon and they will invoice you from your local country (ie UK) so the only way to not pay it (or more correctly, reclaim it) is to register for VAT.

As a business owner, you need to be familiar with taxation.

3 Likes

If your sales are under the 90k threshold, open a case with Amazon and provide the VAT deduction report. After reviewing, Amazon will return your deductible amount.

1 Like