Confusion between product type and brand approval

Newbie here. So I’ve identified a product I would like to sell and I’m in the process of ordering samples (through alibaba) and all that good stuff but in preparation I am trying to go through the process on amazon to list an item (without listing it yet) to see what the steps are.

When i add a product do i have to copy a listing or can i create a new one even though there is a previously listed item?

When i go to copy it asks me to apply for permission to sell. But when i go to alibaba they aren’t the same ‘Brand’. The items are exactly the same, just the listing brand name is different.

Is the permission for the type of item or the specific brand?

Thank you

Yes, that is how it works.

Keep in mind, monkey see monkey do, if the monkey you are following gets stuck in the mud you will too.

ONLY one making money is the actual manufacture of the item. All the others are falling all over themselves for chump change. When you see that scenario, run in the opposite direction. Find something this is not already being sold by MANY others.

As for your listing, you will need a professional selling account to make the item your own. Also get a UPC code from GS1 with your company name so you can have a unique item. Don’t recommend doing any trial listings. Its not hard, just time consuming and very important you have all the correct facts from the start. So, do it when you have time to spare.

Don’t sell on any other listing, you will get attacked/shutdown/hate messages and what ever else an activist seller will pull in order to bully you off the detail page.

5 Likes

Your product, even if it is exactly similar has to match the listing by UPC code and brand name.

So disregard any other similarity :slight_smile:

2 Likes